Font Size: A A A

CDC Immunization Champions

CDC Immunization Champions

HPV Vaccine Is Cancer Prevention Champion

The annual award is given jointly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), American Cancer Society (ACS), and Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI). This award recognizes clinicians, clinics, practices, groups, and health systems that are going above and beyond to foster HPV vaccination among adolescents in their communities.

2019: Dr. Ron Aryel and The Reno Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Reno
2018: Dr. Emmanuel Taguba and Lake Mead Pediatrics, North Las Vegas

CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award

This annual award that recognizes individuals who make a significant contribution toward improving public health through their work in childhood immunization. Each year, up to one CDC Childhood Immunization Champion from each of the 50 U.S. states, eight U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States, and the District of Columbia is honored.  

Nevada's CDC Childhood Immunization Champions include:

2020: Award not given
2019: Beth Ennis, M.S., APRN; Tonopah Community Health
2018: Robin White, MD; The Medical Profession
2017: JoAnn Rupiper, MPH, BSN, RN; Employee Health, Southern Nevada Health District
2016: Bobbi Shanks, RN; Elko County School District School Nurse Coordinator
2015: Doreen Begley, RN; Early Head Start Health Coordinator
2014: Rutu Ezhuthachan, MD; Medical Director, UnitedHealthcare
​2013: Heidi S. Parker, MA; Immunize Nevada Executive Director
2012: Pamela Beal; Southern Nevada Immunization & Health Coalition Executive Director